Committees for Ethics Review

Committees for Ethics Review

Under the umbrella of the University Research Council, independent review committees put the rights, safety, dignity and well-being of research participants at the centre of decision-making while considering the potential benefits of the project to participants, science and society.

Members’ background range from active researchers, professional disciplines, discerning public, legal expertise. The duration of appointment is for three years for internal members and one year for external members, which can be further renewed for one term.

All committees receive administrative support from the ORGS and submit annual reports to the URC highlighting their work, and more importantly, the challenges they face.


  • ​​Ethics Review Committee, Pakistan
    Chair: Dr Shaista Khan

  • Research Ethics Committee, Tanzania
    Chair: Dr Anjum Halai

  • Research Ethics Committee, Kenya
    Chair: Dr Amyn B Lakhani

  • Research Ethics Committee, UK
    Chair: Dr Sarah Savant


Common features of an ethics review:

  • The duration of approval granted for a study is limited.
  • Any change in conditions that could affect the rights of subjects during a study must be approved for the study to continue.
  • The committees approve amendments to protocols that affect human subjects.
  • The committees provide written guidelines on ethical considerations for research involving humans.
  • The committees may withdraw approval if dissatisfied with the conduct of the investigator.

F​or submissions and queries related to ethics review, please contact:


Ethics Review Committee

Ms Gulshan Kalani
Asst. Manager, ERC Pakistan

Ethics Committee for Animal Care and Use

Ms Saima Ejaz
Associate, ECACU Pakistan


Research Ethics Committee

Ms Kamanda Ciru
Officer, Research Support Office


Research Ethics Committee

Ms Rosemary Stephen

United Kingdom

Research Ethics Committee

Ms Razia Velji
Coordinator, Planning & Academic Development​